Teaching rebels - Reisverslag uit Millingen aan de Rijn, Nederland van Saskia Harkema - WaarBenJij.nu Teaching rebels - Reisverslag uit Millingen aan de Rijn, Nederland van Saskia Harkema - WaarBenJij.nu

Teaching rebels

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Saskia

27 Maart 2014 | Nederland, Millingen aan de Rijn

The participants of the Winter University are all students living in Syria who are in some way involved in the reconstruction of civil societty. I have met with a journalist of Al Jazeera who had to flee the country because Al Qaeda put a price on his head. These stories are so much part of daily life, that they have become part of my life here. Studnets who day and night are in contact with Syrian family members to hear about the news and help where they can. When I started my lecture I trylu had a bunch of rebels in my class. Suria is governed by tribal communities which all have thir own rites and rituals. So little ws needed to spur heated disuccsions among the students. I went back to basiscs and have been teaching them to take control over their lifes. I have spoken about leadership, conflct mangement, negotiation techniques, culture, creativity, And step by step I seen them change. They adopte the techniques that I teach them and today we had a wonderful debate about the cultural heritage of Syria. They even said they wished that I would stay 1 week longer, How I have become attached to these young and wonderfful people who are trying to make the best of their lives. Stuck together in tis hotel we seem like one big family. Sharing the sorrow of losses of dear feidns or family which reach the students and seeing their resilinece when they sing in the bus to the university. They have given me hope and they have taught me as much as I have probably taught them.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Saskia

Actief sinds 10 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 1253
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3582

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Maart 2014 - 30 December 2014

Winter University SPARK Gaziantep

Landen bezocht: