De gevolgen van oorlog - Reisverslag uit Millingen aan de Rijn, Nederland van Saskia Harkema - WaarBenJij.nu De gevolgen van oorlog - Reisverslag uit Millingen aan de Rijn, Nederland van Saskia Harkema - WaarBenJij.nu

De gevolgen van oorlog

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Saskia

25 Maart 2014 | Nederland, Millingen aan de Rijn

The days pass by and the war more and more becomes manifest in the stosies of the students. But there is also the beuaty of encounters with Turkish people who are so welcoming to tourists, In Gaziantep hardly any person speaks English and I am glad that I have my dictionary with me. It helps me to at least in a very rudimentary way communicate with the people I meet. One of them was a student who by coincidence spoke very well enlglish. He was so glad to meet a tourist (who are hardly here) that he invited me to spend the day with him and his lovely girlfriend. They invited me to have a coffee and I was so glad with the normality of an encounter without stories of war. He spoke about his university of which he was very proud where he was studying at the Faculty of Education. He asked me if I would like to meet his professor and of course I agreed. He couldn't be happier and we took a bus to the University of Zirve, which lies at the outskirts of the city against a hill with the most fanatstic sight ever. We met with his professor who by coincidence (or not?) also works with refugees and we agreed to keep in touch to see if we could set up some kind of exchange with her university and the university I work for. To be continued.

  • 25 Maart 2014 - 08:33

    Ingun:

    What a great experience you are having and what a fabulous job you are doing!
    If you are willing to make things happen then you are part of the change they need <3

  • 27 Maart 2014 - 11:15

    Julia Harkema-boomgaard:

    Lieve Saskia, Deze moest ik nog lezen. Wat fijn dat je een "gewone"dag hebt gehad met eden Turkse student die Engels sprak, bent uitgenodigd, zijn vriendin hebt ontmoet en dat ook nog zijn professor doe zich eveneens ontfermt over vluchtelingen. Dat kan alleen maar een vervolg hebben in Nederland. Het blijft zo boeiencd wat je allemaal mee maakt. Liefs en saludos!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Saskia

Actief sinds 10 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 159
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3584

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Maart 2014 - 30 December 2014

Winter University SPARK Gaziantep

Landen bezocht: